Rent Out Your Legs

It is well known that Japenese people aren’t afraid to try anything new, but this I think is a bit too crazy. The women of Japan are starting to “rent” out their legs for advertising purposes. It is known as Thighvertising.

Women wear mini skirts with knee high boots to expose their thighs and make people look at their thigh where the add is placed. There is a sticker of the logo or brand name of the product which is placed on the thigh. They then keep the add on their thigh for 8 hours, take a picture and upload it to any social media site and after the 8 hours they get paid.

Personally I don’t like this form of advertising. I understand that advertising should be placed where it will catch your attention to be more effective, but I feel that this is too extreme as women are exposing their bodies and getting paid for it. It shocks me to hear that at the moment there are 1,300 women registered for thighvertising and around 10 women register their legs per day. However I do think that it will be an effective form of advertising and soon it won’t just be Japan that are taking part in it.

Here is a link to an article I read about Thighvertising: http://www.creativeguerrillamarketing.com/guerrilla-marketing/thighvertising/

 
 

 

Leave a comment